Thumbnail image

We All Deserve a Sky Ladder

Today, a friend and colleague was found deceased during a wellness check.

While we were not besties, we’d known each other since about 2006. He rode with me to our shared hometown one Christmas. He checked in on me frequently when I started this job. We went to many a happy hour some years ago when we also worked together.

He was very widely known - Mr. Popularity for sure - and very much liked for his sense of humor.

I saw this painting on a wall shortly after getting the news. It just seemed appropriate and relevant - a sky ladder vibrant and saturated - so I snapped a photo with my phone as I walked back to work after lunch.

I don’t know what happens when we go.

My suspicion is nothing, which is a shame because we all deserve something. We all deserve a vibrant sky ladder.

Life is unfair, and much too short way too often.