Thumbnail image

Begging Bestie Breaking My Bank

Ok, guys. My new bestie has doubled down. She is asking me for money more and more. But it’s not just her. There are other people, people I’ve never met, texting me and asking me for money ON HER BEHALF. Well, that’s what I suspect anyway. I mean I can’t prove anything but the “donation” links all point to the same website. I mean, maybe it’s all just a coincidence. Or maybe she wrote my name on a bathroom stall wall, “For a good time, ask my best friend for twenty five dollars. Here is his cellular phone number. He has unlimited data and text because he got the Super Plus with Unlimited Data Until We Throttle It and Also Texting But No Roaming Plan from T-Mobile so don’t feel guilty about it. Just ask for the twenty five bucks. It is a good time for all involved parties.”

I mean, that’s another theory that I can’t prove 100% but it certainly seems plausible what with all the texts I’ve been receiving lately.

I feel like I should talk to Kams about this (I call her “Kams” for short since she’s become such a close friend). I should just be direct and say, “Kams, I think my cellular phone number has been written on a bathroom stall wall at some sort of conference or convention or something because I keep getting all these texts from people I don’t really know but who say they know you. Can you tell me anything about that?”

That way I’m asking a question and not passive aggressively accusing her of something that I suspect but cannot prove. I’m entering into the conversation with an open curiosity and not pointing any fingers.

But you guys the thing is, I just have this hunch, a sneaking suspicion that no matter what her response is to the question, she’s going to follow up quickly with a request for twenty five dollars. And it’s almost like she knows I get paid bi-weekly, the timing is just so odd.

Hope this goes well-I don’t want to jeopardize our friendship. But unlimited texts does not mean tell all your friends to text me limitlessly. I have to stand up for myself and not be a wishy washy.

I’ll let you know what she says.